Kwanzaa Principals

ca. 2001 — Family Celebrating Kwanzaa — Image by © Royalty-Free/Corbis

The Seven Principles (Nguzo Saba) of Kwanzaa are:

  • Umoja (oo-MOH-jah): Unity
  • Success starts with Unity. Unity of family, community, nation and race.
  • Kujichagulia (koo-jee-chah-goo-LEE-ah): Self-Determination
  • To be responsible for ourselves. To create your own destiny.
  • Ujima (oo-JEE-mah): Collective work and responsibility
  • To build and maintain your community together. To work together to help one another within your community.
  • Ujamaa (oo-jah-MAH): Collective economics
  • To build, maintain, and support our own stores, establishments, and businesses.
  • Nia (NEE-ah): Purpose
  • To restore African American people to their traditional greatness. To be responsible to Those Who Came Before (our ancestors) and to Those Who Will Follow (our descendants).
  • Kuumba (koo-OOM-bah): Creativity
  • Using creativity and imagination to make your communities better than what you inherited.
  • Imani (ee-MAH-nee): Faith

Believing in our people, our families, our educators, our leaders, and the righteousness of the African American struggle.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *