Freedom Fund – Fun Time and Awardees Honored 2021


to all of the Awardees from the 2021 NAACP DeKalb Freedom Fund Awards and Scholarship Gala

WE SALUTE YOU and you can see the Gala Souvenir Book Here

Steven Parris – David Albert Award

Lecester (Bill) Allen – Benjamin L. Hooks Award

Terri Crook – Pat C. Jones Community Award

Salem Bible Church – Faith Based Award

Vickie Turner – Narvie J Harris Education Award

Mrs. Mereda Davis-Johnson – Thurgood Marshall Award

Youth Entrepreneurs – GA Stephenson High School – Youth Service Award

Senator Tonya Anderson – Medgar Wiley Evers Freedom Legacy Award

Nadine Ali – President’s Special Award




There are eight award categories. Nominees must meet the requirements of one of the following:

Benjamin L. Hooks Business Award – Presented to a business entity, individual, or group demonstrating with a commercial enterprise promoting exceptional social and economic support and development within the DeKalb community and/or NAACP.

David C. Albert Award – Presented to a member of the DeKalb NAACP who has made a significant contribution(s) to the DeKalb Branch’s support, growth, and development and toward perpetuating the struggle, mission, and goals of the local, state, and National NAACP during the past twelve (12) months.

Narvie J. Harris Education Award – Presented to an individual or group exemplifying exceptional educational leadership, dedication, and competency and has promoted the enhancement of practical and realistic educational ideas, techniques and strategies that have had a positive impact on DeKalb County students, schools, and/or the educational community.

Patricia C. Jones Community Service Award – Presented to an individual, family, business, or nonprofit community or service organization. Preferably a member of the NAACP who has made an exceptional contribution, and has provided exceptional services, and/or has shown exceptional leadership toward the DeKalb community.

Faith-Based Award – Presented to a theological institution, or religious group and/or clergy or faith base leader who has provided ethical, moral, and religious values, guidance, and services in DeKalb County and extends beyond the scope of a single congregation or community.

Earl T. Shinhoster Youth Services Award – Presented to an individual family, business, or non-profit community or service organization that has provided exceptional services, dedication, leadership, contributions, and/or initiative toward promoting the welfare of the youth in the DeKalb community.

Thurgood Marshall Award – Presented to an individual family, business, or non-profit community or service organization who has demonstrated or promoted exceptional service, dedication, leadership, or initiative and has promoted human welfare and social reform through the National, State, and/or justice or legislative system. And whose efforts have had a significant impact on the DeKalb County community.

Medgar Wiley Evers Freedom Legacy Award – This award honors an individual or a group who has demonstrated a lifetime of courage and laid the foundation for present and future leaders in the cause of civil and human rights.




Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *